Research, Innovation, Invention

Shortlist announced for 2018 Invention of the Year Awards

Photograph L-R: Dr. Sandra Lenihan, Dr Keith Bryan and Dr. Ken O’Connell from Cork Institute of Technology (CIT)

Innovations and inventions in agtech, anti-counterfeiting technology, audio engineering, biotherapeutics, biotech, nutraceuticals3D printing technology and sensor camera technology, have been recognised as finalists for the 2018 Invention of the Year Awards 2018 by the Bridge Network. 

Bridge Network is the largest technology transfer consortium in Ireland and comprises of the technology transfer offices from University College Cork, Cork Institute of Technology, Teagasc and the Institute of Technology Tralee. 

Today, the consortium announced the nominees from each of the consortium member institutions that have been shortlisted for the 2018 Invention of the Year Awards, which celebrate and recognise excellence in innovations and inventions whose benefits add significant impact to the economy and society.  

Previous Invention of the Year Award winners recognised by the consortium include the research team who invented the microLED technology behind InfiniLED, which was acquired by Facebook company Oculus in 2016. 

Announcing the 2018 Invention of the Year Awards shortlist, Vice President of Research & Innovation, University College Cork and Chair of the Bridge Network Governance Committee, Professor Anita Maguire said 

“The Invention of the Year Awards highlight the creativity and excellence of work by our researchers and recognise the impact of their innovations and inventions; this event provides an opportunity for us to showcase the quality and calibre of our people and their research discoveries to industry and to the broader research community. 

Outputs from our research in UCC, CIT, Teagasc and IT Tralee not only lead to breakthrough innovations and pioneering technologies across all industry sectors, but in addition through our knowledge transfer activities, we support our researchers on the journey of commercialisation ensuring the potential economic and societal impact of their work is optimised by the technology transfer capabilities of consortium member institutions. 

Examples of success stories resulting from this combined and collaborative effort across consortium members in the healthtech sector alone include the creation of world class companies such as Luxcel Biosciences recently acquired by Agilent TechnologiesOrthoXel and Loci Orthopaedics”. 

A judging panel comprising of Irish and international experts in research, innovation, commercialisation, knowledge transfer and industry, will consider the finalists for awards from each institution in the categories of bioscience, ICT & physical sciences. 

Full details of the finalists from each institution are detailed below. Congratulations to all: 

University College Cork 

Andrew Moore 

Sean O’Mathuna

Colm O’Dwyer 

Graeme Maxwell

Hugh Smiddy

John Cryan 

Joseph O’Brien 

Maria Bardosova 

Mark Tangney 

Martyn E. Pemble 

Maura Naughton 

Mikhail Parchine 

Nabeel Riza 

Paul McCloskey 

Paul Ross 

Santosh Kulkarni 

Ted Dinan 

Thomas Walther 

Tomas Kohoutek 

Willie Lawton 

Zoran Pavlovic 



Anne M Mullen 

Carlos Alvarez 

Catherine Stanton,  

Ciaran Harte  

Conor Warren 

Ed Lavelle  

Ismael Marcet Manríque 

Jonathan Lane  

Kai Man Tang  

Kieran Meade. 

Mariarosaria Marotta,  

Rita Hickey  

Sinead Morrin 

Steve Carrington 



Cork Institute of Technology 

Derry Fitzgerald 

Keith Bryan 

Ken O’Connell 

Sandra Lenihan 


Institute of Technology Tralee 

Aleksandra Augustyniak 

Helena McMahon 


The 2018 Invention of the Year Awards ceremony will be held in University College Cork on Wednesday 19 September 2018. If you wish to attend the event, please email 

To find out more about Bridge Network eventssubscribe to our newsletter at